Myrtle Beach Domestic Violence Lawyer
Defending Domestic Violence Charges Across Horry County
Domestic violence charges often arise in situations where one person allegedly caused harm or threatened injury to a member of the same household. A domestic violence conviction can have severe and lasting consequences on your life, so don’t hesitate to seek legal representation.
Is a Domestic Violence Charge a Misdemeanor or a Felony?
Domestic violence charges can be either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the situation and number of prior offenses. A prior offense is any domestic violence offense that occurred within the past 10 years. For first and second offenses, the court may suspend the sentence if the defendant completes a batterer’s treatment program. At T. Kirk Truslow, P.A., our Myrtle Beach domestic violence attorney focuses solely on criminal defense and has gotten results for clients for 27 years.
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence in South Carolina?
Domestic violence includes offenses against a member of the same household. This includes spouses, former spouses, individuals who live together or have lived together, and those with a child together. In South Carolina, a police officer can make an arrest, even if he or she did not witness the offense. If there is probable cause to believe domestic violence has occurred, an arrest will likely follow. The number of prior offenses and specifics of the situation can affect the punishment.
The penalties for domestic violence may include:
- First Offense – Up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $1,000 to $2,500
- Second Offense – A mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail and fines of $2,000 to $2,500
- Third and Subsequent Offenses – A sentence of one to five years in prison
- High and Aggravated Nature – A prison sentence of one to 10 years of imprisonment
- Trespass on a Domestic Violence Shelter – Three years in jail and a fine of up to $3,000, or felony charges with up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 fine if the person had a dangerous weapon at the time of the trespass
- Violation of a Protection Order – Up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine or up to a year in jail and a $1,500 fine if found in contempt of court
Consequences Beyond Criminal Penalties
There is a stigma attached to domestic violence charges and a conviction can have consequences that go far beyond any criminal penalty and impact every area of your life. For example, you may not be able to return to your home or see your children if there is a protection order in place. This means that you will need to find another place to stay when you are released from jail and charges are pending.
In addition, the impact will continue long after you have paid fines and been released from jail. A criminal record can influence the outcome of a divorce or child custody case. In certain professions, a criminal conviction can put your career and professional license in jeopardy, or you could have trouble finding a job. For these reasons, it is important to contact an experienced Myrtle beach domestic violence lawyer to protect your rights.
Contact Our Domestic Violence Attorney Today
Our Myrtle Beach domestic violence attorney is experienced, aggressive, and results-driven when defending clients. Mr. Truslow will investigate your case, listen to your side of the story, and work with you to determine the most effective defense strategy for your situation. He puts in the work to develop a solid defense and defends your rights at every stage of the legal process, from your initial consultation until your case is resolved.
Decades of Experience
Attorney T. Kirk Truslow has over two decades of criminal defense experience.
Track Record of Success
Attorney T. Kirk Truslow has successfully handled thousands of cases.
Free Initial Consultation
We offer free initial consultations. Call today to schedule a case review.
We are available around the clock to help those in need of legal assistance.